Thirty-seven eighth grade students are this year’s recipients of the Neumann Scholarship, sponsored by the Connelly Foundation, which provides four-year scholarships to attend any of the 17 high schools of the Archdiocese of Philadelphia.

Developed in 1994, the annual program identifies academically talented eighth grade students through an independently administered competitive examination. The distribution of scholarships is determined by the number of students who sit for the scholarship test in each county.


“All of us in the Office of Catholic Education are immensely proud of the newest Neumann Scholars, and we pray that their futures in our archdiocesan high schools will be as successful and fruitful as their time has been at the elementary school level,” said Debra Brillante, superintendent of elementary schools in the archdiocese. “We are extremely grateful to the Connelly Foundation for their tireless commitment to the students of our Archdiocese and their dedication to Catholic education. We look forward to seeing great accomplishments from the Class of 2020.”

Below is the listing of Neumann Scholarship winners categorized county, with their current elementary school is in parentheses.

Bucks County

Archbishop Wood High School
Justin Baker (St. Jude Catholic Education Center)
Anna Casey (Queen of Angels Regional Catholic School)
Timothy Schulth (St. Katharine Drexel Regional Catholic School)

Chester County

Bishop Shanahan High School
Shannon Baker (Holy Family School)
Elizabeth Howell (Pope John Paul II Elementary School)
Lauren Bradley (SS. Philip and James School)
Mia Bellafante (St. Elizabeth Catholic School)
Paul Ringenbach (St. Elizabeth Catholic School)

Delaware County

Archbishop John Carroll High School
John Goehringer (Visitation B.V.M. School)
Ryan Hoffman (St. Norbert Catholic School)
Audra Quigley (Immaculate Heart of Mary Catholic School)
Skylar Smith (St. Mary Interparochial School)

Cardinal O’Hara High School
Isabelle Chau (St. Anastasia Catholic School)
Margaret Salter (Sacred Heart Catholic School)
David Saunders (Notre Dame De Lourdes)
Kathleen Till (St. Anastasia Catholic School)

Monsignor Bonner and Archbishop Prendergast Catholic High School
Puja Das (St. Laurence Catholic School)
Gavin Woodward (St. Eugene Catholic School)

Montgomery County

Bishop McDevitt High School
Siobhan Loughney (St. Joseph the Protector Regional Catholic School)

Lansdale Catholic High School
Sean Cole (St. Jude Catholic Education Center)
Ciara Coulter (St. Jude Catholic Education Center)
Maria DiRienzo (St. Jude Catholic Education Center)
Aidan Moore (Mater Dei Catholic School)
Anthony Saldutti (Holy Rosary Regional Catholic School)

Pope John Paul II High School
Owen Ley (Holy Cross Regional Catholic School)
George McNeil (Holy Rosary Regional Catholic School)

Philadelphia County

Archbishop Ryan High School
Madison Boyd (St. Katherine of Siena Catholic School)
Ryan Elkins (St. Charles Borromeo Catholic School)
Lara Serna (St. Charles Borromeo Catholic School)
Abigail Woods (Our Lady of Calvary Catholic School)

Father Judge High School for Boys
Matthew Comas (St. Christopher Catholic School)
Brendan McLernan (St. Christopher Catholic School)

John W. Hallahan Catholic Girls’ High School
Jacqueline Coval (St. Mary Interparochial School)

Roman Catholic High School for Boys
Christopher Krapp (St. Matthew Catholic School)
Ethan Lafond (St. Joseph the Protector Regional Catholic School)
Tai Shannon (St. Francis de Sales School)

St. Hubert Catholic High School for Girls
Erin Fitzpatrick (Resurrection Regional Catholic School)