Freshman at each of the 17 Catholic high schools of the Philadelphia Archdiocese were recognized as StoneMor Scholars at an event in the Victoria Theater at Archbishop Ryan High School in Northeast Philadelphia on Thursday, Oct. 15.

Through the new initiative that was announced last August, one freshman student at each of the schools will receive a $3,000 partial scholarship during the current school year.

StoneMor President and CEO Lawrence Miller, who led the recognition of the 17 inaugural scholars said his company “is very connected throughout the community, and we are pleased to celebrate and support our neighbors. The value of a Catholic education is important to so many families — mine included — and we are delighted to be able to provide some tuition assistance to these talented young people.”


During the event the students received congratulations and sweatshirts from their respective high schools by Miller; Samuel Casey Carter, chief executive officer of Faith in the Future; and Sister Maureen McDermott, I.H.M., superintendent for secondary schools of the Archdiocese of Philadelphia.

The StoneMor Scholars were nominated by a selection committee comprising the school president, principal, assistant principal for academic affairs, and the director of guidance. The committee selected students based on a combination of their academic performance, recommendations from their elementary school teachers and administrators and a demonstrated need for financial aid.

The establishment of the StoneMor Scholarship Foundation continues the partnership between StoneMor and the Philadelphia Archdiocese. In 2014 the archdiocese began a long-term agreement to turn over care and management of its 13 Catholic cemeteries to the Levittown-based firm.

StoneMor Scholars class of 2019 (listed by county):


Archbishop Wood High School
Samuel Reynolds (Nativity of Our Lord Parish, Warminster)

Conwell-Egan Catholic High School
Paul Leible (St. Ephrem Parish, Bensalem)


Bishop Shanahan High School
Anna Ebersole (St. Aloysius Parish, Pottstown)


Archbishop Carroll High School
Cecily Ritchie (Visitation B.V.M. Parish, Trooper)

Cardinal O’Hara High School
Tyler LeSage (Holy Cross Parish, Springfield)

Monsignor Bonner and Archbishop Prendergast High School
Dennis McElhone (St. Laurence Parish, Upper Darby)


Bishop McDevitt High School
Christopher Feralio (St. Luke the Evangelist Parish, Glenside)

Lansdale Catholic High School
Jennifer Cronin (St. Rose of Lima Parish, North Wales)

Pope John Paul II High School

Sophia Bonnano (St. Eleanor Parish, Collegeville)


Archbishop Ryan High School
Alexa Kellinger (St. Mark Parish, Bristol)

Father Judge High School for Boys
Daniel Lodes (St. Jerome Parish, Philadelphia)

John W. Hallahan Catholic Girls’ High School
Sydney Picardi (Epiphany of Our Lord Parish, Philadelphia)

Little Flower Catholic High School for Girls
Kristina Tran (Our Lady of Ransom Parish, Philadelphia)

Roman Catholic High School for Boys
Ryan Czech (Presentation B.V.M. Parish, Cheltenham)

St. Hubert Catholic High School for Girls
Haylie Klose (St. Matthew Parish, Philadelphia)

SS. John Neumann-Maria Goretti Catholic High School
Michael Napoli (St. Monica Parish, Philadelphia)

West Catholic Preparatory High School
Jayla Burnett-Reeves (St. Francis DeSales Parish, Philadelphia)