Q. At our parish weekend Mass, one child comes regularly to the altar at the same time as the eucharistic ministers and receives Communion separately from the congregation. My understanding is that he has celiac disease and gets a gluten-free host.
But I just realized today that the celebrant gives him Communion using the same hand that has just touched the “regular” hosts. As a person with a food allergy myself (albeit a different one), doesn’t that risk a cross-contamination of the host received by the boy? (Lansdale, Pennsylvania)
A. The Mayo Clinic in 2012 estimated that 1.8 million Americans suffer from celiac disease; for them, eating gluten (a protein contained in wheat) can cause serious damage to the intestinal lining. This would mean that, in a Sunday congregation of 400 worshipers, two or three would likely be afflicted.
The U.S. Conference of Catholic Bishops has recognized the danger you point out of cross-contamination. In their pastoral guidelines, they suggest that before Mass begins, a low-gluten host be placed in a pyx on the altar. (A pyx is a small inexpensive metal container, and most parishes would have several of them.)
When the person with gluten intolerance approaches the priest in the Communion line, he or she could simply be handed the pyx containing the consecrated host and then self-communicate.
You will notice that I use the term “low-gluten” rather than “gluten-free.” According to the Vatican, hosts must be made of wheat since Christ used wheat bread at the Last Supper.
In the parish from which I just retired, we used low-gluten hosts made by Benedictine nuns in Clyde, Missouri, that contain less than 0.01 percent of gluten and that medical research has deemed safe for most celiac sufferers. Researchers have estimated that most of those afflicted would have to consume 270 such wafers a day to reach a danger point.
For safety’s sake, a person with celiac disease is best advised to seek medical advice regarding the consumption of low-gluten hosts; those Catholics unable to consume even low-gluten hosts may receive under the species of wine only, even if the cup is not offered to the rest of the congregation at a particular Mass.
Q. A retired priest says one of the Sunday Masses each week at our parish. During football season, after the opening hymn, he spends a couple of minutes commenting on the football game that our local team played the day before.
This, of course, produces giggles from the congregation, which urges him to continue what I believe borders on sacrilege. (Also, at the conclusion of the liturgy, instead of saying, “The Mass is ended. Go in peace,” he says, “The Mass never ends; it must be lived by each of us today.”)
His comments at the beginning of Mass have irritated me to the extent that I now leave church until he has finished that part, and then I return to my pew. Your thoughts? (Columbus, Ohio)
A. The first rule, I would think, is that the Mass should be offered with the reverence and dignity that the circumstance warrants: Jesus Christ is made present on the altar, offered to the Lord in sacrifice and then received back as gift to the faithful. This doesn’t rule out occasional humor, lighthearted commentary or reference to contemporary events, even football games.
But if the priest you mention regularly spends as much time as you say reviewing the fortunes of the Ohio State Buckeyes — “a couple of minutes” and then some more — that seems a bit excessive. (Your use of the word “sacrilege,” though, does sound a tad extreme.)
As to his extemporizing at the dismissal rite, why can’t he stick to one of the four formulas offered in the Roman Missal — including “Go in peace, glorifying the Lord by your life,” which is what he seems to want to say?
And as regards your leaving church during the opening comments, I wouldn’t call that a good idea: At the very least, it can distract other worshipers when they watch you return. If it really bothers you that much, why not do something else: Talk to the priest himself, which would be the most “upfront” thing to do, or speak with your pastor or, as a last resort, simply go to a different Catholic parish?
Questions may be sent to Father Kenneth Doyle at firstname.lastname@example.org and 30 Columbia Circle Dr. Albany, New York 12203.
Join the CatholicPhilly.com family
CatholicPhilly.com works to strengthen the connections between people, families and communities every day by delivering the news people need to know about the Catholic Church, especially in the Philadelphia region, and the world in which we live.
By your donation in any amount, you and hundreds of other people become part of our mission to inform, form in the Catholic faith and inspire the thousands of readers who visit every month.
Here is how you can help:
- A $100 gift allows us to present award-winning photos of Catholic life in our neighborhoods.
- A $50 gift enables us to cover a news event in a local parish, school or Catholic institution.
- A $20 gift lets us obtain solid faith formation resources that can deepen your spirituality and knowledge of the faith.
- A small, automated monthly donation means you can support us continually and easily.
Won't you consider making a gift today?
Please join in the church's vital mission of communications by offering a gift in whatever amount that you can ― a single gift of $40, $50, $100, or more, or a monthly donation. Your gift will strengthen the fabric of our entire Catholic community and sustain CatholicPhilly.com as your trusted news source. Thank you in advance!
Make your donation by credit card here:
Or make your donation by check:
222 N. 17th Street
Philadelphia, PA 19103
PREVIOUS: Like an Advent pregnancy, we should be heavy with Christ
NEXT: Readings of the holy Mass – Fourth Sunday of Advent
There are other causes they one must avoid wheat such as wheat sensitivity and wheat allergy. If I am in an area where wheat flour is being baked I go in total pain. I have a few rheumatoid conditions and a chemical sensitivity.
Dear Fr. Doyle,
I was diagnosed with Celiac Disease 6 months ago and have done extensive research on what I can and cannot safely eat as far as how much gluten is in something. The rule for a person with Celiac is actually 20 ppm (parts per million). That is .002%. The hosts made by the Benedictine Sisters (bless their hearts for trying) is 100 ppm (or .01%) as you mentioned. This amount is 5 times more than the safe amount of gluten!
That said, there are several other companies that make low-gluten hosts that meet the FDA standards of “gluten free” without being free of wheat altogether.
http://www.cavanaghco.com/ offers low gluten hosts but you’ll need to find a distributor.
http://glutenfreehosts.com/ also offers low gluten hosts, and is a good option for individuals who need to bring their own (for example if the church has stocked low gluten hosts from the Benedictines).
Watch out though, because I believe Cavanaugh also sells hosts made without wheat for Protestants, and those are not valid for Catholic Masses.
And after all that…I still react to the FDA’s 20ppm or less “gluten free” hosts, so am only able to receive once in a while. Maybe someday there will be a way to remove all gluten from wheat! Which saint could we pray to for that breakthrough?!!