On May 14, Archbishop Nelson Pérez ordained seven men as transitional deacons during a Mass at the Cathedral Basilica of SS. Peter and Paul. The men, all studying at St. Charles Borromeo Seminary in Wynnewood, will serve in parishes of the Philadelphia Archdiocese for one year while completing their studies for ordination as archdiocesan priests next year. Their diaconate ministry continues the normal progression to the priesthood.

The new transitional deacons are Anthony J. Albanese, Shane M. Flanagan, Randall J. Kraft, Phong T. Le, Kenneth I. Omeke, John C. Okpara, and Wesly L. Taveras. (Photos by Sarah Webb)