On Sunday, Most Reverend Nelson J. Pérez, Archbishop of Philadelphia, officially commissioned ten new Missionaries of Mercy with their mandate from the Holy See at Vespers in the Cathedral Basilica of Saints Peter and Paul.

The Missionaries of Mercy were commissioned by Pope Francis in 2015, as part of an Extraordinary Jubilee Year of Mercy. At that time, Pope Francis commissioned one Archdiocesan priest, Reverend Monsignor George A. Majoros, as a Missionary of Mercy for the Archdiocese of Philadelphia.

The ten new Missionaries of Mercy for the Archdiocese of Philadelphia are:

  • Reverend Kenneth C. Brabazon, Pastor of Saint Isidore Parish in Quakertown (Bucks County);
  • Reverend Matthew D. Brody, Pastor of Saint Richard Parish in Philadelphia (South Philadelphia);
  • Reverend Monsignor Francis J. Depman, Pastor of Saint Rocco Parish in Avondale (Chester County);
  • Reverend Peter J. DiMaria, Pastor of Sacred Heart Parish in Bridgeport (Montgomery County);
  • Reverend Monsignor Paul V. Dougherty, Pastor of Saint Margaret of Antioch Parish in Narberth (Montgomery County) and Chaplain of the Deaf Apostolate;
  • Reverend Monsignor Joseph P. Duncan, Pastor of Saint Patrick Parish in Malvern (Chester County);
  • Reverend Douglas M. McKay, Rector of the Malvern Retreat House in Malvern (Chester County) and Chaplain of Our House Ministries in Philadelphia (Grays Ferry);
  • Reverend Augustus C. Puleo, Faculty Member and Director of the English Language Program and Spanish Program (ESL) at Saint Charles Borromeo Seminary in Wynnewood;
  • Reverend Christopher B. Rogers, Pastor of Saint Patrick Parish in Kennett Square (Chester County); and
  • Reverend Charles Zlock, Pastor of Saint Raymond of Peñafort Parish in Philadelphia (Cedarbrook).

Photos: Sarah Webb