Archbishop Charles J. Chaput led a Liturgy of the Word celebration before the 35th annual Academic Honors Convocation May 20 at the Cathedral Basilica of SS. Peter and Paul to honor archdiocesan and private Catholic high school seniors for their academic excellence.

The 158 students, who ranked at the top of their class at the end of the first semester of their senior year, were honored for their academic success and dedication to their schoolwork.

“We are very proud of the class of 2014 and their academic achievements,” said Dr. Carol Cary, archdiocesan superintendent for secondary schools. “The archdiocesan Academic Honors Convocation is a wonderful way to celebrate those achievements with prayerful recognition. This is an important time in the lives of all of our seniors in the archdiocesan high schools and we wish them much success and happiness in the future.”

Kathleen Dolan, a senior from Merion Mercy Academy, was the student speaker at the event. Her topic was “Catholic Education: a Foundation for a Lifetime.”

The 2014 All Catholic Chorus provided liturgical music, conducted by Margaret Campbell and accompanied by organist Cheryl Manfredonia.

The following honored students include Neumann Scholars, indicated by an asterisk. Initiated in 1995, the scholarship program identifies academically talented eighth grade students through an independently administered competitive examination and provides four-year scholarships to attend any archdiocesan high school. (All photos by Sarah Webb)

Archbishop Wood High School
Kasey L. Brown
Cassidy Burns
Caitlin A. Rosica*
Paul R. Sweeney, Jr.
Lisa M. Thein
Laura J. Trisch
John J. Westhoff*
Kenneth J. Woodring

Conwell-Egan Catholic High School
Erica J. Forktus
Molly S. McKeown
Mackenzie L. Purr
Zoe Tarasiewicz

Villa Joseph Marie High School
Katie M. Grant
Catherine M. Messina
Rachel M. Piecyk

Holy Ghost Preparatory School
George S. Armentani
Christian T. Kardish
Andrew P. Prior
Alexander H. Wajda

Academy of Notre Dame de Namur
Aria Kovalovich
Hannah Pohlmann

Bishop Shanahan High School
Paul L. Blanchard
Neil D. Butler
Gerald M. Christians*
Bianca T. Nguyen
Ryan D. Paulukinas
Annemarie C. Phandinh
Nicholas A. Quiroz*
Kate A. Regan
Samuel E. Schmidt

Devon Preparatory School
Andrew A. Bright

Malvern Preparatory School
Luke Bushner
Daniel McGlinn
Brandon Parvesse

Villa Maria Academy
Katherine M. DeFonzo
Catherine T. Napoli
Erin J. O’Keefe

Archbishop Carroll High School
Margaret M. Brecker
John P. Coppa
Matthew M. DeSipio
Julia K. Erdlen
Matthew J. Marino
William J. Pfeifer
Rebecca R. Zamojcin

Cardinal O’Hara High School
Daniel Backer*
Lauren Daly
Lindsay Fitzpatrick*
Patrick Frank
Jeremy Keller
Colleen Logan
Katelyn Markley*
Julia Reger
Samantha Shaw

Msgr. Bonner and Archbishop Prendergast High School
Alison M. Bromley
Justin R. Groshon
Julia N. Innamorato
Joanna N. MacIntosh
Seamus P. Moran
Kerry D. Smith

Bishop McDevitt High School
Sabrina D. Carter
Jessica M. Gwiszcz
Daniel Nguyen
Leeann M. Santo

Gwynedd Mercy Academy High School
Anne E. Fillenwarth
Amanda J. Focht
Theresa K. Webster

Lansdale Catholic High School
Jonathan Capece
Pearl V. Galido
Matthew V. Mohr
John P. Rogers
Patricia Smith
Dang Khoa Sy Tran*

La Salle College High School
Griffin Nemo Brown
Pierce Dutton Cunneen
John Joseph Ernandez, Jr.
John Manus Gallagher
Keith Alan Lee
Timothy McAuliffe
John O’Bryan Scheffey
Daniel Anthony Spinelli, Jr.

Merion Mercy Academy
Kathleen R. Dolan
Alexandra P. Hecht
Mary A. Hope

Mount St. Joseph Academy
Francesca M. Mandel
Brynn K. McGovern
Hope E. McMahon
Christina N. Vosbikian

Pope John Paul II High School
James S. Bleming
Kathleen Blundi
Sarah Mei Kincaid
Daniel A. Parker*
Matthew A. Ringenwald
Mariah Rose Tarpinian
Connor T. Tivenan

St. Basil Academy
Olivia M. Bates
Casey P. McGrath

Archbishop Ryan High School
Danielle C. Altenburger
Craig J. Carr*
Christopher DePascale
Jeffrey F. Durelli
Benjamin P. Kates
Patrick Lam
Sarah A. Murray*
Mary T. O’Leary
Melissa Schweizer*
Daniel B. Turner
Elena J. Varela
Tarmily Wen

Father Judge High School for Boys
Thomas E. Kahn
Daniel C. Loghing
Michael J. McLaughlin, Jr.
Ryan F. Mulville
Michael G. Patterson*
Andrew J. Petrosky
Justin M. Roarty
William J. Wallace

John W. Hallahan Catholic Girls’ High School
Ana M. DeJesus*
Mary K. Dever
Gayeon Lee
Dominique Navé

Little Flower Catholic High School for Girls
Rose C. Pisacano
Sarah E. Plummer
Colleen C. Stengel
Debra Storbrauck
Mary Kate Walsh

Mercy Vocational High School
Robert J. Hernandez
Erica Q. Zabala

Nazareth Academy High School
Paige M. Gianfortune
Isabel C. Mahan
Madeleine L. Parkes

Roman Catholic High School for Boys
Michael W. Costello*
Andrew J. Dehel*
Phillip R. Forrence
John C. Frye
Leo M. Manning
William V. Pilny
David T. Schwab

St. Hubert Catholic High School for Girls
Chidinma C. Akpunonu
Megan P. Chatham
Jillian M. Salwach
Brittney M. Thompson
Lauren B. Weeks

SS. John Neumann-Maria Goretti Catholic High School
Marlena Arrigale
Arianna Chua*
Monica Starr
Gia Storti

St. Joseph’s Preparatory School
Alexander A. Akers
Eamonn M. Burke
Matthew J. Caltabiano
Anthony J. DeRita
Seamus H. Herriman
William J. Mualem
Matthew J. Opdyke
Karol P. Szymula

West Catholic Preparatory High School
Frehiwet Alfa
Zi Yang Lin
Frewine Ogbaselase