Eight men in formation as permanent deacons for the Archdiocese of Philadelphia will receive the Rite of Admission to Candidacy during a liturgy on Saturday, Sept. 9 at 10:30 a.m. in Immaculate Conception Chapel at St. Charles Borromeo Seminary. Bishop Timothy Senior, rector, is the main celebrant.

The candidates beginning their first year of studies in the School of Diaconate Formation’s six-year program include:

William J. Barrow, St. Jude Parish, Chalfont
Peter J. Dolan, St. Teresa of Calcutta Parish, Limerick
Alan T. Haley, St. Peter Parish, West Brandywine
Joseph V. Hosack, St. Rose of Lima, North Wales
John S. McDonald, St. Andrew Parish, Newtown
James J. McGonigal, St. Francis of Assisi Parish, Springfield
Michael J. Scalea, SS. Philip and James, Exton
Thomas A. Strohmetz, St. Norbert Parish, Paoli

All are encouraged to pray for the candidates on their journey to ordination as deacons in the Archdiocese of Philadelphia. Learn more about the formation program here.