The Archdiocese of Philadelphia has realigned the episcopal regions by which its 214 parishes are organized across five counties in Southeastern Pennsylvania.

Under the plan announced by Archbishop Nelson J. Pérez July 15 and having taken effect July 1, four episcopal regions have become three. An auxiliary bishop of Philadelphia, reporting to the archbishop, is responsible for the parishes of a given region.

— Bishop John McIntyre is episcopal vicar for Region 1, which covers Chester and Delaware Counties and comprising Deaneries 1, 2, 3 and 4, totaling 66 parishes.

— Bishop Timothy Senior is episcopal vicar for Region 2, which covers South Philadelphia, West Philadelphia, Center City, Northern Liberties, Roxborough, Northwest Philadelphia and Montgomery County. It is comprised of Deaneries 5, 6, 7, 8 and 9, totaling 88 parishes.

— Bishop Michael Fitzgerald is episcopal vicar for Region 3, which covers Northeast Philadelphia and Bucks County and is comprised of Deanery 10, 11 and 12, totaling 60 parishes.

In addition, Retired Bishop Edward M. Deliman has been named Vicar for Hispanic Catholics throughout the archdiocese.

Archbishop Pérez also thanked Msgr. Michael McCulken, who served as episcopal vicar for Region 2 since 2014 while also serving as pastor of St. Eleanor Parish in Collegeville, and Msgr. Daniel Kutys, who served as episcopal vicar for Region 3 since 2013 while serving as Moderator of the Curia for the Archdiocese of Philadelphia.