Some of the leading Catholic high school seniors in the Archdiocese of Philadelphia will receive special honors for their achievements during the Academic Honors Convocation Thursday, May 21 at 6:15 p.m. at the Cathedral Basilica of SS. Peter and Paul in Philadelphia.

Archbishop Charles Chaput will be the main celebrant of a Liturgy of the Word before the event that honors archdiocesan and private Catholic high school seniors for their academic excellence.

This year 156 students from 32 schools will be honored for their high cumulative ranking at the end of the first semester of their senior year.


“The Class of 2015 distinguished scholars and their families have many achievements to celebrate,”said Carol Cary, archdiocesan superintendent for secondary schools. “The Archdiocesan Academic Honors Convocation gives us the opportunity to highlight those achievements through prayerful recognition. As all of our seniors throughout the Archdiocese of Philadelphia prepare for their Baccalaureate and Commencement ceremonies we offer them prayerful best wishes for a happy and successful future.”

Michael Schwoerer, a senior from Roman Catholic High School, is this year’s student speaker. His topic will be Equipping Saints for Life in This World and the Next.”

Christopher Mominey, secretary for Catholic education, will deliver closing remarks. The 2015 All Catholic Chorus will provide the liturgical music, conducted by Lance Moore and accompanied by organist Anne Coneghan.

The students to be honored are listed below, and include those (indicated by an asterisk) in the Neumann Scholars Program of the Connelly Foundation, which since 1995 has provided four-year scholarships to any archdiocesan high school for academically talented eighth-grade students.

Archbishop Wood High School

Connor P. Beebie
Emil M. Berbakov
Johanna J. Carroll
Alison C. Coady
Pairic J. Kearney
Kaitlyn Emily Krewson*
Sydney Sherman*
Catherine A. Stapf

Conwell-Egan Catholic High School

Robert J. Badman
Michaela M. Gladu
Maria C. Schmidle

Villa Joseph Marie High School

Alyssa G. Aileo
Caroline E. Boschetto
Danielle N. Rigau

Holy Ghost Preparatory School

Patrick A. Chapman
Randall J. Kraft
Daniel F. Martin

Bishop Shanahan High School

Daniel Lara-Agudelo
Louis Fortunato
Julia Harrer*
Joseph Kelly
Jennifer Kempinski
Nathan Kritz
James Owens
Gregory Pera
P. Daniel Rowe*

Devon Preparatory School

Pandurang R. Bharne
Andrew M. Shannon

Malvern Preparatory School

Nicholas J. Gabriele
Jack M. Marchesani
Michael E. McCarthy
Alexander T. Yablonski

Villa Maria Academy High School

Meaghan K. Dyal
Emily N. Legaard
Kelly L. Wright

Archbishop Carroll High School

Nicholas M. Andricola
Amanda R. Bristowe
Mary E. Clay
Katherine G. Finley
Mary Kate Masterson*
Kevin J. Rogowski
Kristen M. Ryan

Academy of Notre Dame de Namur

Maura Dougherty
Meredith Hughes
Kirsten Mansfield
Congyu Xu

Cardinal O’Hara High School

Mary Katherine Dougherty
Bridget Egan
Michael Joseph Helker
Erin Marie Joyce
Isobel McCreavy*
Alexandra Patrick
Erin Reger
Colin J. Whelan
Carrie J. Zamonski

Country Day School of the Sacred Heart

Abigail M. McGuckin
Grace A. Parker

Monsignor Bonner and Archbishop Prendergast High School

Patrick J. Adams
Joseph P. D’Imperio*
Quinn E. Dolan
Trevor S. Dunbar
Emily E. Ianovale
Grace C. McDermott

Bishop McDevitt High School

Kia Ear
Michael J. Lydon
Hoang D. Pham

Gwynedd Mercy Academy High School

Mary Dolan Breen
Clare Marie McHugh
Madelyn Marie Nelson

Lansdale Catholic High School

Sabrina Antoni*
Catherine E. Blankemeyer*
Courtney A. DelPo
Ryan M. Dixon*
Nicholas S. Maloney*

La Salle College High School

Richard E. Beaver
John G. Curran
Edward L. Devlin
Conor P. Hogan
Anthony J. Knesis
Kevin M. Moran
Joseph A. Splendido
Matthew T. Strosser

Merion Mercy Academy

Julie G. Bevilacqua
Emma M. Ibrahim
Erica A. Murphy
Alison D. Snarponis

Mount St. Joseph Academy

Stephanie Eble
Jenna Gray
Belin Mirabile
Margaret Schoeller

Pope John Paul II High School

Meredith C. Gray
Kristof Marrecau
Ryan R. Milligan
Courtney P. Thompson
Kayla M. Thompson
Claire C. Weckerly

St. Basil Academy

Myranda B. Gormley
Emily McCann

Archbishop Ryan High School

Kevin J. Brown*
Julia C. Banas
Shannon L. Calter
Tyler Jacob Hall
Emily C. Hancin
Kaitlyn A. Hoster
Tyler Matthew Matecki
Eric P. Nowosielski
Stephen Andrew Schaffner
Matthew C. Szewczak

Father Judge High School for Boys

Joseph M. Amon
Peter Blumenstein*
Thomas M. Ehresmann
Olek J. Gierczak*
David A. Lomanno
Mark F. Macerato*
Gregory W. Van Buskirk

John W. Hallahan Catholic Girls’ High School

Sarah E. Bruzek
Aziza Frank
Jovanna N. Penza
Hope A. Smalley

Little Flower Catholic High School for Girls

Lauren Kirk
Christina M. Kuhlmeier
Catherine A. McAna
Emilia Minhondo
Alexis K. Ukogo

Mercy Vocational High School

Erykah M. Sims
Brianna A. Sotomayor

Nazareth Academy High School

Regina D. Duesler
Jenna C. Guenther
Bridget M. Temple

Roman Catholic High School for Boys

Thomas H. Beck
Robert T. Collins, Jr.*
Connor McKenna
Patrick McKenna
Anthony P. Nguyen*
Christian Petrillo
William P. Schmidt
Michael P. Schwoerer*

St. Hubert Catholic High School for Girls

Madelynn Corcoran
Marissa Olson
Natalie Olson
Jamie Tomlinson
Amanda K. Wright

SS. John Neumann-Maria Goretti Catholic High School

Kerri Gedraitis
Christopher Girardo
Jessica Pasquarello*
Gianna Varallo
Congyao Zheng

St. Joseph’s Preparatory School

John J. Buccieri
Michael T. Considine
Andrew J. Dintino
Matthew J. Giangiordano
Liam M. Green
John P. Macri
Brandon P. McKenzie

West Catholic Preparatory High School

Shanika Cooper
Marta Teferi